Boys Sunflower League Champs! Alex Finestead wins for the Eagles!

posted Oct 19, 2013, 1:09 PM by Levi Huseman   [ updated Oct 19, 2013, 1:33 PM ]
For the first time EVER, the Olathe North Eagles are Sunflower League Champions!  Led by Sunflower League individual champion (and first time individual champ from Olathe North), Alex Finestead, the boys' varsity team took home first place!  Our boys scored 41 points, ahead of second place Free State with 63 points.  Alex Finestead won the race with a time of 16:07.7.  Also in the top 10 were Easton Moore in 4th place (16.38.9) and Nathan Wickoren in 6th place (16:51.3).  The remaining two scorers (Wyatt Heikes and Emmett Fitzgerald) also medaled with 14th and 18th places.  The varsity team was made complete with races from Josiah Heikes (26th), Zan Johnson (33rd), Carlos Guzman (37th), Chryspus Muema (38th), and Cyrus Muema (39th). 
The varsity girls' team were lead by medalist Loretta Achoki, placing 12th with a time of 16:15.1.  The varisty girls took 6th place out of a loaded Sunflower League Girls' field.  The boys JV team was lead by Christian Wise with a time of 18:57.5.  The girls' JV team was lead by the duo of Kayleigh Shaffer and Katrina Kinzel, who ran times of 19.20.5 and 19.21.4 respectively.  ALL of our subvarsity runners ran a great final race of the season.